Cadwalader Recognized in 2018 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America

August 15, 2017

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP, a leading counselor to global financial institutions and corporations, has been recognized in the 2018 edition of The Best Lawyers in America, with 32 lawyers across 26 practice areas featured in the guide. Inclusion in the publication is based on a peer-review process in which approximately 58,000 leading attorneys cast nearly 7.4 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas.

Cadwalader attorneys were chosen as leaders in the areas of Administrative/Regulatory, Banking and Finance, Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization, Bankruptcy Litigation, Commercial Litigation, Bet-the-Company Litigation, Corporate, Criminal Defense: White-Collar, Derivatives and Futures, Employee Benefits (ERISA), Energy, Financial Services Regulation, Health Care, Intellectual Property Litigation, Regulatory Enforcement Litigation (SEC, Telecom, Energy), Natural Resources Law, Patent, Patent Litigation, Real Estate, Real Estate Litigation, Securities Litigation, Securities Regulation, Securities/Capital Markets, Securitization and Structured Finance, Tax, and Trusts and Estates.

The publication also named four Cadwalader attorneys “Lawyer of the Year,” a recognition awarded to only one lawyer per practice and metropolitan area: Anne M. Tompkins, a partner in the firm's White Collar Defense and Investigations Group, is the 2018 Lawyer of the Year for Criminal Defense: White Collar; Scott A. Cammarn, a partner in the Financial Services Group, is the 2018 Lawyer of the Year for Financial Services Regulation Law; and Stuart N. Goldstein, co-chair of the firm’s Capital Markets Practice, is the 2018 Lawyer of the Year for Securitization and Structured Finance Law in Charlotte, NC. In New York, Fredric L. Altschuler, senior counsel in the Finance Group, is the 2018 Lawyer of the Year for Real Estate Litigation.

The following individual attorneys are also recognized as leaders in their fields:

Charlotte: Scott A. Cammarn (Banking and Finance, Financial Services Regulation); James P. Carroll (Banking and Finance, Real Estate, Securitization and Structured Finance); Stuart N. Goldstein (Securitization and Structured Finance); Henry A. LaBrun (Securitization and Structured Finance); Francisco J. Linares (Derivatives and Futures); and  Anne M. Tompkins (Bet-the-Company Litigation, Criminal Defense: White-Collar, Regulatory Enforcement Litigation (SEC, Telecom, Energy), Securities Litigation).

New York: Fredric L. Altschuler (Real Estate Litigation, Real Estate); Louis J. Bevilacqua (Corporate); Kathy Hirata Chin (Health Care); James S. Frazier (Employee Benefits (ERISA)); Michael S. Gambro (Securitization and Structured Finance); Anna H. Glick (Securitization and Structured Finance); Jason M. Halper (Commercial Litigation); Steven M. Herman (Real Estate); Jonathan M. Hoff (Securities Litigation); Christopher A. Hughes (Intellectual Property Litigation, Patent Litigation, Patent); Robert C. Lawrence III (Trusts and Estates); Steven D. Lofchie (Administrative / Regulatory, Derivatives and Futures, Securities / Capital Markets, Securities Regulation); Brian T. McGovern (Health Care); William P. McInerney (Real Estate); Paul W. Mourning (Health Care); William J. Natbony (Health Care); Gregory M. Petrick (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization, Bankruptcy Litigation); Patrick T. Quinn (Securitization and Structured Finance); Richard M. Schetman (Derivatives and Futures);; Ray I. Shirazi (Derivatives and Futures); Lary Stromfeld (Derivatives and Futures, Securitization and Structured Finance); and Linda Z. Swartz (Tax).

Washington, DC: George D. Billinson (Energy); Robert A. Davis Jr. (Employee Benefits (ERISA)); Mark C. Ellenberg (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization, Bankruptcy Litigation); and Mark R. Haskell (Energy, Natural Resources).