Cadwalader Attorneys Honored by the New York State Bar Association as Empire State Counsel

February 24, 2009

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP, one of the world’s leading international law firms, announced that more than 45 of its lawyers were recognized by the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) as Empire State Counsel for their pro bono work in 2008. The NYSBA honors practitioners who devoted at least 50 hours to helping underserved communities last year.

Those honored were Antohny Antonelli, Joshua Apfelroth, Salvatore Astorina, Whitney Baron, Ahsaki Benion, Sandra Bjegovic, Ellisha Blechynden, Richard Boatti, John Busillo, Alicia Clifford, Anthony Del Giudice, Mike Dolan, David Flamholz, Robert Foote, Maria Gall, Stephanie Gase, Ariel Gordon, Carly Greenberg, Gillian Groarke, Daniel Hadjinian, Peter Halpin, John Halski, Gerard Hefner, Mark Holdsworth, Kate Huey, Heather Kalachman, Jonathan Karas, Rielly Karsh, Charles Kaufman, Julie Leonhardt, Stephanie Marcantonio, Jed Miller, Amber Neal, Jennifer Orr, Jared Perez, Brian Schreyer, Joshua Shapiro, Kathryn Shreeves, Ari Silverman, Debra Steinberg, Christopher Tyrrell, Marisol Vazquez, Jessica Wong, Binghao Zhao, Gregory Zimmer, and Joseph Zujkowski.

“At Cadwalader, we view pro bono as a privilege and are honored to have the opportunity to help our communities,” said Chris White, Cadwalader's Chairman. “The firm’s lawyers honored by the New York State Bar Association have generously donated their time and talent to this worthy endeavor, and everyone at Cadwalader is proud of what they have accomplished.”

The NYSBA created the Empire State Counsel program in 2006 to give special recognition to attorneys who dedicate exceptional amounts of time to persons of limited financial means and not-for-profit, governmental, and public services organizations without charging a fee.