New York State Bar Association Names 25 Cadwalader Attorneys “Empire State Counsel”

January 27, 2010

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP, one of the world’s leading international law firms, announced that 25 of its lawyers were recognized by the New York State Bar Association (NYSBA) as Empire State Counsel for their pro bono work in 2009. The NYSBA honors practitioners who devoted at least 50 hours to helping underserved communities last year.

Those honored were: Joshua Arnold, Ellisha Blechynden, Brian Capitummino, Anthony Del Giudice, Mike Dolan, Maria Gall, Stephanie Gase, Mathew Goldstein, Gerard Hefner, Jonathan Karas, Martin Krezalek, Mark Lakin, Elizabeth Mattern, Anup Misra, Amber Neal, Jared Perez, Michael Rosado, Ari Silverman, Jared Stanisci, Debra Steinberg, Nicole Stephansen, Jared Sunshine, Jean Troast, Heather Webb, and Jennifer Wetzel.

“These attorneys are committed to making a difference in the lives of people who could not otherwise afford or access legal representation,” said Christopher White, Chairman of Cadwalader. “We are proud of the wide variety of pro bono projects they have undertaken and their use of their tremendous legal skills to make a difference in our communities.”

The NYSBA created the Empire State Counsel program in 2006 to give special recognition to attorneys who dedicate exceptional amounts of time to persons of limited financial means and not-for-profit, governmental, and public services organizations without charging a fee.