Kentucky Is Latest State to Blacklist Financial Institutions Over ESG Policies

January 6, 2023

To ring in the new year, Kentucky’s Treasurer, Allison Ball, announced a list of eleven financial institutions that she claims are engaged in “energy company boycotts.”  According to Ball, the list “was crafted after careful review of publicly available statements and commitments made by the companies.”  The list includes Blackrock, BNP Paribas, Citigroup, HSBC and JPMorgan Chase, among others. Kentucky enacted a law in July 2022 requiring the treasurer to prepare and maintain such a list. 

Continue reading.