Subscribe
A Tilt of the Globe
October 28, 2019 | Issue No. 5
Special Counsel | Real Estate

Foreign investment in U.S. commercial real estate has dramatically increased over the past several years. Foreign investors have long viewed the United States — in particular, trophy assets and other properties in cosmopolitan markets in California, New York and Miami — as a safe place to park their money while seeking steady returns. However, in the first half of this year, we have seen a sharp decline in the amount of foreign investment in U.S. commercial real estate, in particular, by Chinese investors. 

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

The U.S. real estate industry has long benefited from an active private placement market, where companies can raise financing by offering directly to investors the opportunity to invest in them. However, it is only over the last decade that we have witnessed the use of private placements in Europe as a legitimate competitor to the more traditional bond market.

Read More »

Associate | Real Estate

Since July 1, New York City has seen the first effects of the recently increased New York Mansion Tax on properties sold for over $1 million.

Read More »

Here is a rundown of some of Cadwalader's recent work on behalf of clients. 

Read More »

Key Contacts

William P. McInerney
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6118
william.mcinerney@cwt.com

 

Duncan Hubbard
Partner
T. +44 (0) 20 7170 8525
duncan.hubbard@cwt.com

Fredric L. Altschuler
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6525
fredric.altschuler@cwt.com

 

Melissa C. Hinkle
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6972
melissa.hinkle@cwt.com

Holly Marcille Chamberlain
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5121
holly.chamberlain@cwt.com

 

Alan W. Lawrence
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6332
alan.lawrence@cwt.com

Jeremy Cross
Partner
T. +44 (0) 20 7170 8530
jeremy.cross@cwt.com

 

Bonnie A. Neuman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 5625
bonnie.neuman@cwt.com

Christopher J. Dickson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5159
christopher.dickson@cwt.com

 

Matthew Robertson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5257
matthew.robertson@cwt.com

Steven M. Herman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6054
steven.herman@cwt.com

   
© 2020 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts