Subscribe
Talking About Workouts and Restructurings
October 28, 2020 | Issue No. 17

In this LawWise podcast, real estate finance partner Steve Herman and special counsel Loren Taub take a look at the return of workouts and restructurings – a direct result of the coronavirus pandemic. Steve and Loren examine the steps that lenders and borrowers can take to effectively manage these transactions.

Please click here to listen.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Special Counsel | Real Estate
Associate | White Collar Defense & Investigations

President Trump’s early August 2020 Executive Orders prohibiting transactions with ByteDance Ltd., the Chinese owner of the popular social media app TikTok, and, separately, ordering the divestiture of ByteDance’s U.S. business operations, have thrust the activities of a once-obscure Executive Branch interagency body – the Committee for Foreign Investment in the United States (“CFIUS”) – into everyday conversation. The scope of transactions that now may come under CFIUS review is much broader, including the commercial real estate space. Lenders who operate in this market should familiarize themselves with CFIUS, its authorities, and its considerations, especially as foreign investment begins to pick back up along with the overall economy.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

New York City's Guaranty Law challenged in litigation. 

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

On October 20, 2020, in response to the continued health and economic hardships faced by New York business owners due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Governor Cuomo signed a new executive order extending the statewide moratorium on commercial eviction until January 1, 2021.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

In this part 4 of our hotel financing series, we discuss some of the most important hotel agreements, why they are key to the value of the hotel, and the tools which lenders often use when liaising with franchisors and hotel managers to protect the value of their security.

Read More »

Bill Ackman, the CEO and Portfolio Manager of Pershing Square Capital Management, L.P., will give the keynote address at this year’s Finance Forum. The Finance Forum takes place virtually on the afternoon of November 12th.

Read More »

Here is a rundown of some of Cadwalader's recent work on behalf of clients. 

Read More »

Key Contacts

Steven M. Herman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6054
steven.herman@cwt.com

 

Duncan Hubbard
Partner
T. +44 (0) 20 7170 8525
duncan.hubbard@cwt.com

Fredric L. Altschuler
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6525
fredric.altschuler@cwt.com

 

Holly Marcille Chamberlain
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5121
holly.chamberlain@cwt.com

Christopher J. Dickson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5159
christopher.dickson@cwt.com

 

Melissa C. Hinkle
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6972
melissa.hinkle@cwt.com

Alan W. Lawrence
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6332
alan.lawrence@cwt.com

 

Bonnie A. Neuman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 5625
bonnie.neuman@cwt.com

Matthew Robertson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5257
matthew.robertson@cwt.com

   
© 2021 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts