Subscribe
Heading into Q4
September 30, 2020 | Issue No. 16
Special Counsel | Real Estate

In January of this year a bill was proposed in the New York State legislature that would impose mortgage recording tax on mezzanine loans. The bill was recently amended to clarify that mortgage recording tax would also be imposed on preferred equity investments. In addition, in connection with either a mezzanine loan or a preferred equity investment, the mezzanine lender or preferred equity holder, as applicable, would be required to file a UCC-1 Financing Statement in the real property records to perfect its security interest in its collateral – certain membership interests or shares in the mortgage borrower.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

In this part 3 of our hotel financing series, we discuss one of the most common structures – the “OpCo/PropCo” structure – and some of the issues surrounding security as a result of this structure.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

Citing concerns with the continued spread of COVID-19, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention issued a new order temporarily halting residential evictions nationwide through December 31, 2020 (unless extended). 

Read More »

Cadwalader's fifth annual Finance Forum will be held virtually this year on Nov. 12. 

Read More »

Here is a rundown of some of Cadwalader's recent work on behalf of clients. 

Read More »

Key Contacts

Duncan Hubbard
Partner
T. +44 (0) 20 7170 8525
duncan.hubbard@cwt.com

 

Steven M. Herman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6054
steven.herman@cwt.com

Fredric L. Altschuler
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6525
fredric.altschuler@cwt.com

 

Melissa C. Hinkle
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6972
melissa.hinkle@cwt.com

Holly Marcille Chamberlain
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5121
holly.chamberlain@cwt.com

 

Alan W. Lawrence
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6332
alan.lawrence@cwt.com

Jeremy Cross
Partner
T. +44 (0) 20 7170 8530
jeremy.cross@cwt.com

 

Bonnie A. Neuman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 5625
bonnie.neuman@cwt.com

Christopher J. Dickson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5159
christopher.dickson@cwt.com

 

Matthew Robertson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5257
matthew.robertson@cwt.com

© 2021 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts