Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
Clarity in a Complex Year
November 30, 2023

Welcome to the latest edition of Cabinet News and Views, as we get ready to turn the calendar to December and enter the home stretch of 2023.

We do so with some greater clarity on the state of the banking industry and of corporate governance issues. I offer a top-line summary of the FDIC’s quarterly banking profile for the third quarter of 2023 which, as Chairman Martin Gruenberg notes, reflects continued resilience in the industry. 

This week’s issue also offers key insights into UK and EU regulatory reports. My colleague, Jack Andrew Kelly, provides an update on the 2024 proxy voting guidelines for UK-listed companies, recently published by Glass Lewis. The guidelines contain equal measures of key updates and existing policy clarifications. My colleague, Alix Prentice, details the UK Financial Conduct Authority’s final report on the implementation of the Investment Firms Prudential Regime, which will impact over 3,500 investment firms. Finally, in a nod to the classic Shakespearean question of what’s in a name, my colleague, Duncan Grieve, discusses the findings of an EU report indicating that the proportion of Europe investment funds using ESG-related terms in their fund names has grown by 400% over the past decade.

We’re always here for comments and questions. Just drop me a note here

Daniel Meade 
Partner and Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

Earlier this week the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation issued the latest Quarterly Banking Profile for the third quarter of 2023. 

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Jack Andrew Kelly
Special Counsel | Financial Regulation

On 16 November 2023, Glass Lewis, a global provider of corporate governance and proxy voting services, published its 2024 Benchmark Policy Guidelines which sets out its updated framework for evaluating the governance policies and practices of UK listed companies and its approach in respect of proxy voting recommendations. The 2024 Proxy Voting Guidelines cover a range of topics including directors’ appointment, attendance, remuneration and risk management oversight.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Alix Prentice
Partner | Financial Regulation

The UK’s Financial Conduct Authority has published its final report on the implementation of the Investment Firms Prudential Regime.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Duncan Grieve
Special Counsel | White Collar Defense and Investigations

On October 2, 2023, the EU markets regulator, the European Securities and Markets Authority, published a study indicating that the proportion of investment funds in Europe using ESG-related terms in their fund names has grown by 400% over the past ten years.

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts