Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
What's the Risk?
June 15, 2023

The NBA and NHL seasons came to an end earlier this week, but that didn’t stop Acting Comptroller of the Currency Michael Hsu from using sports imagery to describe the work of federal regulators. Commenting on the release of the OCC’s Semiannual Risk Perspective for Spring 2023, Acting Comptroller Hsu said that the banks and the UCC’s examiners would be “on the balls of their feet” with regard to risk management. 

Taking today’s sports analogy a step further, a regulatory dream team – the OCC, FRB, FDIC, NCUA and CFPB – proposed Interagency Guidance on Reconsiderations of Value of Residential Real Estate Valuations that focuses on policies and procedures that financial institutions may want to incorporate to address and mitigate valuation discrimination risks. My colleague Mercedes Tunstall and I take a closer look in this week’s issue. 

Alix Prentice also provides some valuable insights into the European Banking Authority’s final report on amendments to its guidelines on improving resolvability under the Bank Recovery and Resolution Directive.

What’s on your mind? Happy to discuss. You can reach out to me here.

Daniel Meade 
Partner and Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency issued its Semiannual Risk Perspective for Spring 2023 yesterday. The OCC highlighted liquidity, operational, credit, and compliance risks, among the key risk themes in the report.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation
Profile photo of contributor Mercedes Kelley Tunstall
Partner | Financial Regulation

Last week, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, Federal Reserve Board, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the National Credit Union Administration, and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau proposed Interagency Guidance on Reconsiderations of Value of Residential Real Estate Valuations.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Alix Prentice
Partner | Financial Regulation

The European Banking Authority has published its final report on amendments to its guidelines on improving resolvability under the Bank Recovery and Resolution Directive.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Jason M. Halper
Partner | Global Litigation
Profile photo of contributor Timbre Shriver
Associate | Global Litigation

In May 2023, the World Benchmarking Alliance released a report on the first edition of its Financial System Benchmark, which assesses financial institutions’ progress toward climate change goals.

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts