Subscribe
Everybody's Talking
June 23, 2022

Everybody’s talking about the SEC’s climate disclosure rules ... and we mean everybody. As this week’s In Depth article shows, climate has dominated the headlines within the financial services industry broadly, along with the real estate and structured finance industries, and this is reflected in recent comment letters submitted by the Commercial Real Estate Finance Council (“CREFC”), the Bank Policy Institute (“BPI”), the Structured Finance Association (“SFA”) and the American Bankers Association (“ABA”).

Truth is, if industry participants are not talking about climate, then they are likely talking about crypto and that June 2023 LIBOR deadline. We take a closer look at those topics as well. 

As always, we welcome your thoughts on this week’s issue of Cabinet News and Views and other timely topics. Just write to us here.

Daniel Meade and Michael Sholem
Co-Editors, Cabinet News and Views  

Partner | Antitrust

The United States Supreme Court denied a petition for certiorari filed by six foreign banks that argued that U.S. courts lacked personal jurisdiction over them.

Read More »

Partner | Financial Regulation

On June 21 and 22, lawyers, compliance professionals and commodity traders convened in Houston to discuss current compliance matters and the state of commodity markets, with the focus on energy commodities as well as carbon and environmental products. A number of themes emerged from the panels with speakers from private industry, consultancies and regulators.

Read More »

Partner | Financial Regulation

On June 21, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Board voted to amend the Deposit Insurance Fund restoration plan originally adopted in September 2020. As part of that amended restoration plan, the FDIC issued a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking to propose a universal increase in initial base deposit insurance rates of 2 basis points.

Read More »

Special Counsel | Capital Markets
Associate | Capital Markets
Partner | Financial Regulation

By the time the comment period closed on June 17, 2022, the SEC had received thousands of comment letters from the public in response to the SEC’s proposed climate disclosure rules, which is perhaps the most ambitious proposed rule-making by the agency in at least two decades. Nestled among countless comment letters written by individual members of the public were comments submitted by trade associations representing the commercial real estate, structured finance and banking industries. This article summarizes notable highlights from letters put forward by some of the trade associations representing parts of the financial services industry.

Read More »

Cadwalader’s financial services team hosted the first part of a four-part webinar series on capital relief trades and opened registration for the second installment. 

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Daniel Meade
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2294
daniel.meade@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2022 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts