Subscribe
See You in September
August 30, 2021
Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

On August 26, 2021, the U.S. Supreme Court issued an order vacating the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s latest eviction moratorium.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Associate | Real Estate

One of the standard tasks in real estate work is reviewing and analyzing tenant estoppels in connection with a potential loan or real estate purchase of a building with commercial tenants. A tenant estoppel is a signed certificate made by a tenant certifying for the benefit of a potential buyer and/or lender of a property that certain material terms of its lease are correct as of a certain date. Potential lenders rely on tenant estoppels for purposes of their underwriting and due diligence by taking into account representations from the tenant, such as the actual rent that is currently being paid, the amount of outstanding improvement allowances, whether any defaults, offsets or abatements to rent exist and expiration dates.

Read More »

Associate | Real Estate

In Part Two of our series on limited recourse finance in the European real estate finance market, we look at the structural features.

Read More »

Partner | Real Estate
Senior Attorney | Real Estate

On June 29, 2021, in The Gap, Inc. v. 170 Broadway Retail Owner, LLC, the New York Appellate Division, First Department, overturned an earlier decision by the New York Supreme Court and issued a decisive victory to commercial landlords whose tenants have claimed that the COVID pandemic should be treated as a casualty under the terms of its commercial lease or that the COVID pandemic has frustrated the purpose of its commercial lease.

Read More »

Special Counsel | Financial Restructuring
Senior Counsel | Financial Restructuring

Substantive consolidation is an equitable remedy pursuant to which a bankruptcy court disregards the separate legal existence of a debtor, and pools the assets and liabilities of the debtor with one or more of its affiliates, in order to make distributions to creditors under a plan of reorganization or liquidation.

Read More »

Here is a rundown of some of Cadwalader's recent work on behalf of our clients.

Read More »

Key Contacts

Steven M. Herman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6054
steven.herman@cwt.com

 

Duncan Hubbard
Partner
T. +44 (0) 20 7170 8525
duncan.hubbard@cwt.com

Fredric L. Altschuler
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6525
fredric.altschuler@cwt.com

 

Holly Marcille Chamberlain
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5121
holly.chamberlain@cwt.com

Christopher J. Dickson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5159
christopher.dickson@cwt.com

 

Melissa C. Hinkle
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6972
melissa.hinkle@cwt.com

Alan W. Lawrence
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6332
alan.lawrence@cwt.com

 

Bonnie A. Neuman
Partner
T. +1 212 504 5625
bonnie.neuman@cwt.com

Matthew Robertson
Partner
T. +1 704 348 5257
matthew.robertson@cwt.com

   
© 2021 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts