2010 Edition of The Best Lawyers In America Recognizes Numerous Cadwalader Attorneys

August 07, 2009

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP, one of the world’s leading law firms, is pleased to announce that 33 attorneys in 19 different areas of practice have been named to the 2010 edition of The Best Lawyers in America. Attorneys are selected for inclusion in Best Lawyers based on an exhaustive and rigorous peer-review process. The 2010 edition of the book will be released later this year.

The firm’s lawyers were chosen as leaders in the areas of Administrative, Antitrust, Banking, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights, Commercial Litigation, Corporate, Corporate Governance and Compliance, Criminal Defense: White-Collar, Derivatives, Employee Benefits, Equipment Finance, Intellectual Property, Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate, Securities, Structured Finance, Tax, and Trusts and Estates. Cadwalader also placed in the top group of firms in the categories of Derivatives Law in the U.S., Structured Finance in New York, and Derivatives Law in North Carolina.

The publication named the following lawyers: James Carroll (Banking, Real Estate, Structured Finance), Stuart Goldstein (Structured Finance), and Francisco Linares (Derivatives) from Cadwalader’s Charlotte office; New York-based Richard Aborn (Equipment Finance), Fredric Altschuler (Real Estate), Louis Bevilacqua (Corporate), Dennis Block (Mergers & Acquisitions), George Davis (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights), Michael Gambro (Structured Finance), Anna Glick (Structured Finance), Bronislaw Grala (Employee Benefits), Ronald Hopkinson (Leveraged Buyouts and Private Equity), Christopher Hughes (Intellectual Property), Robert Lawrence III (Trusts and Estates), Steven Lofchie (Administrative, Derivatives, Securities), Gregory Markel (Commercial Litigation), David Miller (Tax), Christopher Mirick (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights), Patrick Quinn (Structured Finance), John Rapisardi (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights), Richard Schetman (Derivatives), Jordan Schwartz (Structured Finance), Ray Shirazi (Derivatives), Lary Stromfeld (Derivatives, Structured Finance), Linda Swartz (Tax), Andrew Troop (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights), and Christopher White (Real Estate); and Raymond Banoun (Criminal Defense: White-Collar), Mark Ellenberg (Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights Law), Bruce Hiler (Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Securities Law), Michael Horowitz (Criminal Defense: White-Collar), James Robinson (Criminal Defense: White-Collar), and Charles “Rick” Rule (Antitrust) of the Washington office.

“It is gratifying that practitioners in a wide variety of practice areas, and resident in all of our U.S. offices, were recognized by their peers for inclusion in Best Lawyers as among the best in their fields,” said Christopher White, Cadwalader’s Chairman. “These attorneys exemplify  Cadwalader’s commitment to provide premier legal counsel and outstanding client service.”

Best Lawyers made its selections based on more than 2.5 million confidential evaluations by top attorneys in the country, as well as thousands of extensive telephone interviews with leading attorneys  throughout the balloting process. The Best Lawyers rankings are especially prestigious because attorneys are not allowed to pay a fee to be listed, instead appearing in an advertisement-free book to honor all those chosen.