Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
Year-End Reflections
December 14, 2023

As we have already begun some aspects of the year-end festive season, this week's newsletter includes insights from our authors on crucial developments shaping the financial landscape.

The OCC released its Annual Report this week, and I commend it to anyone interested in the OCC’s view on the state of the condition of the federal banking system (spoiler alert: the condition of the banking system is sound, but there are improvements that can be made and stakeholders should be on guard for complacency). However, this week I cover FDIC Director Jonathan McKernan’s speech to an ISDA conference regarding the Basel III Endgame proposal’s effect on the trading book and a suggestion for a possible phased approach to finalizing the rule.    

Alix Prentice delves into the UK’s Banking Regulator’s latest moves, providing a comprehensive breakdown of the Prudential Regulation Authority's publication of near-final policy statements. She explores the intricacies of the seven chapters outlined in consultation paper 16/22, shedding light on the implementation of Basel III standards and its potential impact.

Rachel Rodman brings a detailed analysis of the European Banking Authority's recent report. Focusing on the evolving landscape of environmental and social risks, she examines the EBA's insights, emphasizing the necessity for a robust prudential framework to address these emerging factors.

As we gear up for the holidays and turning the calendars to a new year, we want to express our heartfelt gratitude for your unwavering support. To rejuvenate and prepare for an exciting start to 2024, we'll be taking a brief hiatus and returning in January. 

We’re always here for comments and questions. Just drop us a note here

Daniel Meade 
Partner and Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

This week, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Director Jonathan McKernan gave remarks to the ISDA Conference on Trading Book Capital on Basel III Implementation.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Alix Prentice
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Prudential Regulation Authority has published its near-final policy statement setting out feedback to seven chapters of its consultation paper 16/22 on implementation of the final elements of Basel III standards on the measurement of risk-weighted assets.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Rachel  Rodman
Partner | Consumer Financial Services Enforcement and Litigation

In October 2023, the European Banking Authority published a report addressing the need for a comprehensive prudential framework that adequately considers emerging environmental and social risks. The report is a response to Article 501c of Regulation (EU) No 575/2013 (the Capital Requirements Regulation 2013 (CRR)) and Article 34 of Regulation (EU) 2019/2033 (the Investment Firms Regulation (IFR)), and the EBA initiated its publication through a discussion paper on May 2, 2022. This report signals a series of upcoming reports in line with the CRR.

Read More »

Cabinet readers, as the holiday season approaches, we want to take a moment to express our gratitude for your continuous support throughout the year. In celebration of the festivities and to recharge for an exciting new year, we'll be taking a short break. Wishing you all a joyful and safe holiday season filled with warmth and cheer. We eagerly anticipate reconnecting in the new year. 

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts