Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
Long-Term Debate
August 31, 2023

This week, we're shining a spotlight on a significant move by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Federal Reserve Board, and the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency. Federal banking agencies have jointly proposed a long-term debt requirement that could reshape the landscape for large banks – those with assets of $100 billion or more, but not a GSIB. I also dive into the rest of the agenda of the FDIC Board meeting from Tuesday.

My colleague Alix Prentice discusses the recent shifts in trading rules and regulatory changes under the new Financial Services and Markets Act 2023.

Any comments or questions? Just drop me a note here.

Daniel Meade 
Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, Federal Reserve Board and Office of the Comptroller of the Currency issued a proposed rule to require large banks to issue and maintain minimum amounts of long-term debt. 

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

In addition to approving the long-term debt proposal we discuss separately today, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation Board had a busy day on Tuesday. As we noted last week, when the FDIC provided notice for the board meeting, Tuesday’s meeting was a busy one.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Alix Prentice
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Financial Services and Markets Act 2023 became law on 29 June 2023, with its principal objective stated in Section 1 being the revocation and replacement of EU laws that were retained and on-shored into the UK after its departure.

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts