Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
Capital News from the Capital
July 13, 2023

Let the capital discussions begin. 

If Fed Vice Chair Michael Barr's announcement earlier this week of preliminary recommendations for risk-based capital rules was intended to set in motion increased conversation and to prepare big banks for some analysis and introspection, then that's exactly what has occurred.  

My colleague Nikita Cotton and I take a close look at Vice Chair Barr's speech at the Bipartisan Policy Center and analyze his preliminary recommendations on capital and risk exposure.

If you'd like to start the discusion at your organization, we'd be happy to participate. Just reach out to me here.

Daniel Meade 
Partner and Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Nikita B. Cotton
Associate | Financial Regulation
Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

In a speech made at the Bipartisan Policy Center on Monday, the Federal Reserve’s Vice Chair for Supervision, Michael S. Barr, communicated preliminary recommendations stemming from the holistic review of capital requirements for large banks that he has undertaken since being appointed.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Mercedes Kelley Tunstall
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau yesterday filed an amicus brief in Franklin Savings Bank v. Bordick, a case before the Supreme Court of Maine. 

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Alix Prentice
Partner | Financial Regulation

The UK Government has published its response to a call for evidence for a review of the Short Selling Regulation. The review was initiated as part of the UK’s aim to deliver a “Smarter Regulatory Framework” for financial services by repealing and replacing EU law retained after Brexit with firm-facing regulations made by regulators under a framework set by the government.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Sukhvir Basran
Partner | Financial Services
Profile photo of contributor Rachel  Rodman
Partner | Consumer Financial Services Enforcement and Litigation

The Network of Central Banks and Supervisors for Greening the Financial System is assembling a team of modelling experts to develop short-term climate scenarios that capture the adverse implications in the near term of disorderly climate transition efforts and natural disasters.

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts