Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
Life Without LIBOR
June 29, 2023

After a long journey, tomorrow marks the end of the transition away from LIBOR.

But as we know, and as we’ve been reminded for the past few years by my colleague Lary Stromfeld, a market-leading legal voice on LIBOR transition, life without LIBOR won’t look all that different than it does today. We’re not back in 1999 when, as many of us remember, unfounded fears about Y2K nearly paralyzed our organizations’ operations. As Lary tells us, the sun will indeed come out on Saturday. Be sure to read Lary’s “Commencement Speech.” I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.  

For those in the U.S. celebrating Independence Day on Tuesday, have a great Fourth of July weekend. Enjoy the barbecues, pool and beach trips, hikes and, of course, fireworks. Happy 247th birthday to our nation. 

Daniel Meade 
Partner and Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Lary Stromfeld
Partner | Financial Regulation

The London Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR) will stop being published on the basis of panel bank quotes and will be replaced by alternative replacement rates after June 30, 2023. In the spirit of the season, below is the commencement speech I would imagine giving.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

Yesterday, the Federal Reserve Board issued the aggregate and individual results of the supervisory stress test (also known as the Dodd-Frank Act Stress Test or DFAST, as these tests are required by Section 165 of the Dodd-Frank Act), which assesses whether banks are sufficiently capitalized to absorb losses during a severe recession. 

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Mercedes Kelley Tunstall
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Financial Action Task Force, which is focused on leading global initiatives to tackle money laundering and terrorist financing, issued a report regarding the implementation of its recommended standards addressing AML concerns in the cryptocurrency space over the last four years.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Mercedes Kelley Tunstall
Partner | Financial Regulation

The Federal Trade Commission filed an amicus brief in a case before the Seventh Circuit that was brought on appeal by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau against a Chicago-area lender, Townstone Financial, for violations of the Equal Credit Opportunity Act.

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts