Cadwalader Logo Cabinet News & Views - Informed analysis for the financial services industry
Subscribe
Peeling Back the Onion
May 18, 2023

The images of banking industry leaders and federal regulators in Washington answering to Congress on what went wrong with Silicon Valley Bank and Signature Bank made for some can't-miss TV this week. Maybe not quite the NBA playoffs, Succession or American Idol, but you get the picture.

Whether this is just theater or leads to some honest introspection about what happened and how we can all ensure that large banks are able to be resolved in a more orderly fashion remains to be seen. I take a closer look in this week's issue.

My colleague Peter Malyshev also takes a look at a proposed broadening of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission enforcement powers and, in London, Alix Prentice examines the FCA's proposal on revamped remuneration rules. We've also included an important news item from Rachel Rodman and Simon Walsh from our sister publication, Cadwalader Climate, on results of the 2022 Eurosystem Balance Sheet Climate Risk Stress Test.

Any thoughts? You can reach out to me here.

Daniel Meade 
Partner and Editor, Cabinet News and Views

Profile photo of contributor Daniel Meade
Partner | Financial Regulation

This week, the Senate Banking Committee and the House Financial Services Committee held multiple hearings on bank failures that have occurred this year, with each committee holding a hearing with former leaders of the failed banks, as well as hearings with the federal depository institution supervisory agencies and the California and New York banking Supervisors. 

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner | Financial Regulation

Earlier this month members of Congress jointly introduced the “Energy Consumer Protection Act of 2023,” with the intention of expanding the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission’s ability to address energy market trading violations under the Federal Power Act and Natural Gas Act.

Read More »

The UK’s Financial Conduct Authority has published Consultation Paper CP23/11 on enhancing the proportionality of the application of rules on remuneration for smaller, dual-regulated firms in relation to the risks those firms pose to UK consumers and markets.

Read More »

Profile photo of contributor Rachel  Rodman
Partner | Consumer Financial Services Enforcement and Litigation
Profile photo of contributor Simon Walsh
Special Counsel | Global Litigation

As part of the European Central Bank’s 2021 action plan to incorporate climate change considerations into its monetary policy, the ECB conducted a climate risk stress test of the Eurosystem balance sheet in 2022.

Read More »

Maurine R. Bartlett
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6218
maurine.bartlett@cwt.com

Sukhvir Basran
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8620
sukhvir.basran@cwt.com

Brian Foster
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6736
brian.foster@cwt.com

James Frazier
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6963
james.frazier@cwt.com

Mark Howe
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2236
mark.howe@cwt.com

Gregg Jubin
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2485
gregg.jubin@cwt.com

Philip S. Khinda
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2262
philip.khinda@cwt.com

Ivan Loncar
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6339
ivan.loncar@cwt.com

Peter Y. Malyshev
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2474
peter.malyshev@cwt.com

Jed Miller
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6821
jed.miller@cwt.com

Michael Newell
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8540
michael.newell@cwt.com

Alix Prentice
Partner
T. +44 0 20 7170 8710
alix.prentice@cwt.com

Rachel Rodman
Partner
T. +1 202 862 2210
rachel.rodman@cwt.com

Richard M. Schetman
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6906
richard.schetman@cwt.com

Lary Stromfeld
Partner
T. +1 212 504 6291
lary.stromfeld@cwt.com

Jonathan M. Wainwright
Senior Counsel
T. +1 212 504 6122
jonathan.wainwright@cwt.com

© 2024 | Notices | Manage Subscription | Contacts